

Ontario Bar Association | Association du Barreau de l'Ontario

July 27, 2005

SECTIONS

Aboriginal Law

Administrative Law

Alternate Dispute Resolution

Business Law

Canadian Corporate Counsel

Association - Toronto Chapter

Charity and Not-For-Profit Law

Citizenship and Immigration

Civil Litigation

Constitutional & Civeil Liberties

Construction Law

Criminal Justice

Education Law

Entertainment, Media

& Communications

Environmental Law

Family Law

Feminist Legal Analysis

Health Law

Information & Technology

Insolvency Law

Insurance Law

International Law

Labour Relations

Law Practice Management

Municipal Law

Natural Resources and Energy

Pensions and Benefits

Privacy Law

Public Sector Lawyers

Real Property

Sole, Small Firm & General Practice

Taxation Law

Trusts & Estates

Worker's Compensation

Young Lawyers

John Stevenson Secretary to the Commission Ontario Securities Commission 20 Queen St. W., Suite 1903, Box 55 Toronto ON M5H 3S8

Leigh-Anne Mercier Senior Legal Counsel British Columbia Securities Commission P.O. Box 10142, Pacific Centre 701 West Georgia Street Vancouver BC V7Y 1L2

Anne-Marie Beaudoin Directrice du secretariat Autorité des marchés financiers Tour de la Bourse 800, square Victoria C.P. 246, 22^e étage Montréal, QC H4Z 1G3

Dear Sir and Mesdames:

Re: Request for Comments – Multilateral Instrument 11-101 Principal Regulator System

This letter is submitted in response to the requests for comment published May 27, 2005 by the Ontario Securities Commission (the "OSC") and separately by the Canadian Securities Authorities in the other Canadian provinces and territories (the "other CSA jurisdictions") on proposed Multilateral Instrument 11-101 *Principal Regulator System* ("MI 11-101") and proposed consequential amendments to other instruments.

This submission is provided by the Securities Law Subcommittee of the Business Law Section of the Ontario Bar Association (the "OBA Subcommittee"). The members of the OBA Subcommittee are listed in the attached Appendix. Please note that not all of the members of the OBA Subcommittee participated in or reviewed this submission, and that the views expressed are not necessarily those of the firms and organizations represented by members of the OBA Subcommittee.

Principal Regulator System

The OBA Subcommittee supports the position taken by the OSC in refusing to endorse MI 11-101. In particular, we agree that in the interests of market efficiency and investor protection, it is inappropriate to implement a passport system in the absence of highly harmonized legislative requirements for all participating jurisdictions (or ideally, a single legislative regime applicable in all jurisdictions). MI 11-101 does not meet this standard, and does nothing to promote the goal of further harmonization of regulatory standards.

MI 11-101 – Treatment of Ontario-based Issuers and Registrants

MI 11-101 contemplates that issuers or registrants based in the other CSA jurisdictions and foreign issuers will be able to file applications (and pay fees) only with the principal regulator under MI 11-101 and Ontario under MRRS or NRS. However, Ontario-based issuers or registrants will continue to have to file applications (and pay fees) in all applicable CSA jurisdictions under MRRS or NRS.

In our view, the refusal by the OSC to endorse MI 11-101 is not a valid reason for affording differential treatment to Ontario-based issuers or registrants who are reporting issuers in the other CSA jurisdictions and who comply with the requirements of those jurisdictions. In particular, we do not understand why the regulators in the other CSA jurisdictions that have otherwise endorsed MI 11-101 would treat Ontario-based issuers or registrants differently under MI 11-101 in their own jurisdiction.

We recommend that MI 11-101 be amended to permit Ontario-based issuers or registrants to rely on the exemptions in MI 11-101 in the other CSA jurisdictions. An Ontario-based issuer or registrant could use the OSC as its principal regulator under MRRS or NRS and one other CSA jurisdiction with which the Ontario-based issuer or registrant has the next most significant connection as its principal regulator under MI 11-101 (possibly with the other principal regulator under MI 11-101 being the only non-principal regulator for purposes of MRRS). We note that this is the proposed treatment under MI 11-101 of foreign issuers for which the OSC acts as the principal regulator under MRRS.

Other Streamlining Initiatives

The OBA Subcommittee supports the OSC's position in endorsing the other streamlining initiatives outlined in the CSA notice, notably in the areas of prospectus/AIF review and registration.

In particular, we support the implementation of the mobility registration exemption in Ontario as well as the other CSA jurisdictions.

We also support the proposal to shorten the prospectus/AIF review process by providing for simultaneous review by principal and non-principal regulators. However, we note that in the interests of efficiency, as an operational matter, non-principal jurisdictions should consult with the principal jurisdiction to avoid duplicative or conflicting comments.

* * * * * * * * * *

Thank you for this opportunity to comment. If you have any questions, please direct them to Richard Lococo (<u>richard_lococo@manulife.com</u>, 416-926-6620), Philippe Tardif (<u>ptardif@langmichener.ca</u>, 416-307-4085) or Janne M. Duncan (<u>jduncan@tor.fasken.com</u>, 416-868-3357).

Yours truly,

Securities Law Subcommittee Business Law Section Ontario Bar Association

Appendix

OBA SECURITIES LAW SUBCOMMITTEE

Members:

Richard A. Lococo (Chair), Manulife Financial

Thomas W. Arndt, 407 ETR

Aaron J. Atkinson/Janne M. Duncan, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

Timothy S. Baikie, Canadian Trading and Quotation System Inc.

Justin Beber/Kenneth R. Wiener, Goodmans LLP

Colin B. Berryman/Michael D. Innes, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Mary Condon, Osgoode Hall Law School

Gil I. Cornblum/William D. Kitay, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

Pierre Dagenais, Ogilvy Renault

Anoop Dogra, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Aaron S. Emes, Torys LLP

Eleanor K. Farrell (Secretary), CPP Investment Board

Paul J. Franco, Heenan Blaikie LLP

Kevin J. Gormely, CIBC World Markets

Matthew Graham, TD Bank Financial Group

Margaret I. Gunawan, Barclays Global Investors Canada Limited

Carol Hansell/Kenneth G. Klassen, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP

Henry A. Harris, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP

Barbara J. Hendrickson, McMillan Binch Mendelsohn LLP

David R. Kerr/Kay Y. Song, Manulife Financial

Samir Y.A. Khan, AIM Trimark Funds

Susan I. McCallum, Barrister & Solicitor

Caroline Mingfok/Richard Wyruch, Rockwater Capital Corporation

Richard Raymer, Hodgson Russ LLP

Nancy J. Ross, RBC Investments

Warren M. Rudick, Mackenzie Financial

Shea T. Small, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Robert N. Spiegel, Stikeman, Graham, Keeley & Spiegel LLP

Robert M. Stewart, Miller Thomson LLP

Philippe Tardif, Lang Michener

D. Grant Vingoe, Arnold & Porter LLP

Arlene D. Wolfe, Feltmate Delibato Heagle LLP

Liaison:

Michael Brady, Market Regulation Services Inc.

Luana DiCandia/Julie K. Shin, Toronto Stock Exchange

Iva Vranic, Ontario Securities Commission