Members of the Investor Advisory Panel

The Investor Advisory Panel consists of nine members, including the panel’s chairperson. Each member of the panel is appointed for a two-year term.

Patti Best

Patti Best is a former senior executive in the investment industry, bringing over 40 years of experience from client-facing senior-level positions with brokerage firms, mutual fund dealerships, and investment fund companies. She has a diverse background in client relations, investment product operations, and administration, as well as systems and product development. In 2016, Patti retired from her position as senior vice president, client experience at Mackenzie Investments.

Daniel Brunet

Daniel Brunet has served as national director on the board of directors for the National Association of Federal Retirees since 2017. He is a lawyer with over 40 years of experience and previously served on the Disciplinary Council and Equivalences Committee of the Quebec Bar. Prior to his retirement from public service in 2014, he held various positions including: director of legal services at the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada and crown prosecutor for Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère de la Justice, and for the Ontario attorney general.

Brigitte Catellier

Ms. Catellier is co-director of the Investor Protection Clinic at Osgoode Hall Law School where she is also an adjunct professor. The Clinic provides free legal advice to people who believe their investments were mishandled and who cannot afford a lawyer. As co-director of the Clinic she oversees all activities including strategic direction, file management, student supervision and seminar instruction. Ms. Catellier obtained her BCL/LLB degrees from McGill University and was admitted to the Quebec Bar. She is a Fellow of the Chartered Governance Institute, Ms. Catellier is a Member of the Board of Governance Professionals of Canada and currently serves as VP, Corporate Governance at Meridian Credit Union.

Neil Gross, chair

Neil Gross is a capital markets policy consultant and a former executive director of the Canadian Foundation for Advancement of Investor Rights (FAIR Canada). He is a lawyer with over 35 years of experience focused on investor protection issues. Neil also serves as a director of a portfolio management firm, a member of a liquid alternative fund’s independent review committee, a fellow of a national advocacy organization dedicated to elder care public policy, and a freelance opinion columnist for The Globe and Mail newspaper.

Serge Kalloghlian

Serge Kalloghlian has been a lawyer for over 10 years, with a litigation practice focusing on class actions and investor rights advocacy. He has represented harmed investors in securities class actions and other investor rights litigation through all levels of Ontario’s courts and the Supreme Court of Canada.

Supriya Kapoor

Ms. Kapoor is the founder and principal of Aurelius GRP, an investment governance, regulatory and policy consultancy. As a regulatory consultant Ms. Kapoor provides advice and guidance to develop effective compliance programs, operational infrastructures, and robust governance structures to ensure investor needs and interests are being appropriately met. Ms. Kapoor has over 20 years experience in securities regulatory compliance, including as Chief Compliance Officer and a member of management of multiple registered firms.

Ivy Lam

Ms. Lam is the director of the recently-launched University of Toronto Investor Protection Clinic, which provides free legal services and public legal education to members of vulnerable communities who are at risk of suffering harm, or may have suffered harm, relating to their investments. The Clinic engages in a broad range of activities to educate the community and promote investor protection and rights. Ms. Lam is a senior lawyer with over 20 years experience in private practice at top law firms and as in-house counsel.

Harvey Naglie

Harvey Naglie brings over 40 years of experience to the IAP in both the public and private sectors, with a focus on financial services. He is a former senior policy advisor for the Ontario Ministry of Finance’s Financial Services Policy Division, where he participated in developing and implementing policies related to securities regulation and investor protection. Harvey holds an LL.M. in securities law from York University, an MBA from the University of Western Ontario Ivey School of Business, and an MA in economics from Johns Hopkins University. He is a member of OBSI’s Consumer and Investor Advisory Council.

Leslie Wood

Leslie Wood is a chartered professional accountant and former senior executive in the investment fund industry and brings over 25 years of experience to the IAP. She has successfully completed several mutual fund acquisitions, product re-engineerings, systems integrations, and conversions, brand and distribution developments, and oversights of all back-office operations and new product launches. Leslie retired in 2016 and now serves on multiple independent review committees.