Image
Reflection in window pane

Tribunal

The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) Tribunal is the administrative tribunal that is assigned the power to conduct hearings and make decisions under Ontario securities law.

Members of the OSC perform three distinct functions: adjudication, board, and policy and rule-making. As adjudicators, Members (other than the Chair & Chief Executive Officer who does not adjudicate) act independently of their other roles and preside over administrative proceedings brought before the OSC Tribunal. There may be more than one hearing in a proceeding. A hearing is heard and decided by a panel of one or more Members. Upcoming hearings are listed on the Tribunal hearing schedule.

For more information, such as assistance for self-represented parties and preparing for a hearing at the OSC Tribunal, please consult the Guide to OSC Tribunal Proceedings, Rules of Procedure and Forms and other Tribunal resources.

Tribunal leadership

Office of the Secretary

The OSC appoints the Secretary as an officer of the Commission as provided by Ontario’s Securities Act. The Secretary is responsible for the oversight and leadership of the OSC Tribunal. The Office of the Secretary provides support to Commissioners in their adjudicative function to advance the fair, impartial and efficient operation of the Commission’s adjudicative proceedings.

The Adjudication Guideline sets out the standards of conduct concerning the professional and ethical responsibilities of the Secretary to the Commission, Office of the Secretary staff, and the Members of the Ontario Securities Commission when performing an adjudicative function. Further information about the role of the Secretary to the Commission can be found in the Commission’s Charter of Governance.

Adjudicative Committee

The OSC’s Adjudicative Committee is responsible for assisting the Members in fulfilling their adjudicative duties, including the orientation and continuing education of Members, and for promoting tribunal excellence, including evaluating the Commission’s adjudicative policies, procedures and practices and recommending improvements. Further information about the Adjudicative Committee can be found in the Commission's Charter of Governance.

Accountability and stakeholder engagement

The OSC Tribunal engages with stakeholders with respect to its adjudicative policies, procedures and practices.

The Securities Proceedings Advisory Committee is the advisory committee that provides comments and advice to the Office of the Secretary on policy and procedural initiatives relating to the OSC Tribunal and best practices to ensure fairness, transparency and accessibility.

OSC Tribunal metrics

OSC Tribunal Metrics are published quarterly and annually:

Proceedings before the Commission

OSC Tribunal hearings are open to the public unless ordered otherwise. The OSC Tribunal hearing schedule provides information about the time and location of upcoming hearings. 

Documents relating to a proceeding are published on the website unless a Panel orders otherwise. Historical and current proceedings documents, such as Applications, Statements of Allegation, Notices of Hearing, Motions, Notices of Withdrawal, decisions, orders, reasons and approved settlement agreements can be found by searching for a proceeding.

Image
Reflection in window pane

Tribunal

Le Tribunal de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario (CVMO) est le tribunal administratif qui détient le pouvoir de tenir des audiences et de prendre des décisions en vertu de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario.

Les membres de la CVMO exercent trois fonctions distinctes : élaborer des politiques et des règles, siéger au conseil d’administration et arbitrer les instances administratives. À titre d’arbitres, les membres (autres que le président et chef de la direction qui n’effectue pas d’activités d’arbitrage) agissent indépendamment de leurs autres rôles et président aux instances administratives qui se tiennent devant le Tribunal de la CVMO. Une instance peut comprendre plus d'une audience. Un comité constitué d'un membre ou plus instruit une audience et rend une décision. Les audiences à venir sont énumérées dans le calendrier des audiences du Tribunal.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, comme de l'aide pour les intimés non représentés par avocat et vous préparer pour une audience du Tribunal de la CVMO, veuillez consulter le Guide des instances d'application de la Loi de la CVMO, les Règles de procédure et formules et les autres Ressources relatives au Tribunal.

Direction du Tribunal

Le Bureau du secrétaire

La CVMO nomme le secrétaire membre en vertu de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario. Le secrétaire est responsable de la supervision et de la direction du Tribunal de la CVMO. Le Bureau du Secrétaire apporte son soutien aux commissaires dans leur fonction juridictionnelle pour faire avancer la juste, impartiale et efficace des instances d'arbitrage de la Commission.

La Directive d'arbitrage énonce les normes de conduite en ce qui a trait aux responsabilités professionnelles et éthiques du secrétaire de la Commission, du personnel du Bureau du secrétaire et des membres de la CVMO lorsqu’ils exercent des fonctions d’arbitrage. Vous pouvez obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet du rôle du secrétaire de la Commission dans la Charte des rôles et des responsabilités en matière de gouvernance.

Le Comité d’arbitrage

Le Comité d’arbitrage de la CVMO a pour objectif d’aider ses membres à s’acquitter de leurs tâches en matière d’arbitrage, dont l'orientation et la formation continue des membres, à effectuer la promotion de l’excellence du Tribunal, dont l'évaluation des politiques, des procédures et des pratiques en matière d'arbitrage de la Commission, et à formuler des recommandations d'amélioration. Vous pouvez obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet du rôle du Comité d'arbitrage dans la Charte des rôles et des responsabilités en matière de gouvernance.

La responsabilisation et la mobilisation des intervenants

Le Tribunal de la CVMO collabore avec des intervenants quant à ses politiques, à ses procédures et à ses pratiques d'arbitrage.

Le Comité consultatif sur les instances en valeurs mobilières (en anglais seulement) présente au Bureau du secrétaire des commentaires et des conseilssur les initiatives en matière de politiques et de procédures liées au Tribunal de la Commission et aux pratiques exemplaires pour assurer l'équité, la transparence et l'accessibilité.

Rapports quantitatifs du Tribunal de la CVMO

On publie les rapports quantitatifs du Tribunal de la CVMO tous les trimestres et chaque année.

Instances tenues devant la Commission

Les audiences du Tribunal de la CVMO sont accessibles au public à moins qu'un Comité ne l'ordonne autrement. Le Calendrier des audiences du Tribunal de la CVMO donne de l'information sur l'heure et le lieu des audiences prévues. 

Les documents qui ont trait à une instance sont affichés sur le site Web, à moins qu’un comité n’en ordonne autrement. On peut consulter les documents sur les instances passées et en cours, comme les demandes, les exposés des allégations, les avis d'audience, les requêtes, les avis de retrait, les décisions, les ordres, les motifs et les conventions de règlement approuvées. Il suffit de chercher une instance.